In 1849, the rich history of The Church of St. Matthew on-the-Plains, Aldershot began when a few pioneer families started meeting in their homes for worship. The original church building was built in 1861 on a parcel of land donated by members of the Wyatt family. The Church was often referred to as Wyatt’s Chapel-of-Ease as people would often stop on their way to Hamilton.  The land was given by the Applegarth family from an original Crown Grant.  The former Rectory land to the West of the cemetery was donated by the Brown family.

During much of its early history, St. Matthew’s shared clergy with St. Luke’s Anglican Church, Wellington Square (Burlington) Grace Anglican Church, Waterdown and St. Andrew’s by-the-Lake, Hamilton. A building boom began in the mid-twentieth century and the current parish hall was built in 1953 with the help of members of the church who volunteered 8,000 hours.  The original white wooden Church was enlarged in 1954.  In 1965 St. Matthew’s church was razed and a new modern brick church building was erected to accommodate the new influx of people into the once rural area of Aldershot.

In 2004 a new expansion and renewal of community and worship space were dedicated by The Rt. Reverend D. Ralph Spence, then Bishop of Niagara.  This renovation has made the church facilities completely accessible and able to meet the needs of the wider community.

Over the decades, The Church of St. Matthew on-the-Plains has remained a faithful Christian witness and shining beacon to the Aldershot community.